AUSSER SICH

Based on the novel by Sasha Marianna Salzmann

»There’s been a shipwreck, two twins are separated, the sister puts on her missing brother’s clothes and, as her brother, goes into an unknown kingdom to look for him. She finds him in herself. That’s pretty much what’s going on in Außer sich.«
Sasha Marianna Salzmann

Ali’s twin brother Anton has disappeared. After years, a postcard without a sender arrives at her house with nothing more than the word »Istanbul« on it. Ali rushes into the confusion of that city: the streets turn, colours and contours blur. Ali begins to forget why she came and what she’s looking for. In a club she encounters Katho, who guides her through Istanbul’s night life, and she meets Aglaya, who becomes the symbol of the Gezi Park protests. And somewhere in bar mirrors and turned around the corner, she divines Anton and runs after him.

Ali tries to leave gender, language, countries behind, until she understands: there’s no moving on if she doesn’t know what came before. She decides to go back and undertake the task she has always run away from: questioning her family. Why did we leave so many times? What is this running in us? 100 years of Jewish family history take place via Odessa, Chernivtsi, Grozny, Volgograd, Moscow, Germany, Germany, Germany and then Istanbul at the harbour, where Katho talks about Odessa.

Resident director Sebastian Nübling ventures with the ensemble into this opulent landscape of characters and stories. An odyssey of changes and upheavals. What does it mean today to be able to say »I«? Potential fragments of identity are always looking for new configurations.

Premiere October 12th 2018

WATCH THE TRAILER



Aufführungsrechte: Verlag der Autoren, Frankfurt am Main

Photo: Esra Rotthoff

Stage Photos: Ute Langkafel


 

Based on the novel by
Sasha Marianna Salzmann
Directed by
Sebastian Nübling
Wed
19:30
Stage


19 Uhr: Einführung

With English surtitles


19 Uhr: Einführung

With English surtitles

Tue
19:30
Stage


With English surtitles


With English surtitles

Sun
18:00
Stage


With English surtitles


With English surtitles

Team

Stage design

Costumes

Lightning design

Live music

Cast

MEHMET ATEŞÇİ

Margarita Breitkreiz

Anastasia Gubareva

Kenda Hmeidan

Polina Lapkovskaja

Falilou Seck

Sesede Terziyan

Ausser sich

AUSSER SICH

»Es gibt einen Schiffbruch, Zwillinge werden getrennt, die Schwester legt die Kleidung des verschollenen Bruders an und geht als dieser Bruder in ein unbekanntes Königreich, um diesen Bruder zu suchen. Sie findet ihn in sich. Das ist so ziemlich das, was in Außer sich passiert.«
Sasha Marianna Salzmann

Alis Zwillingsbruder Anton ist verschwunden. Nach Jahren kommt eine Postkarte ohne Absender ins Haus, beschriftet nur mit dem Wort »Istanbul«. Ali stürzt in die Wirrnisse dieser Stadt: Die Straßen biegen sich, Farben und Konturen verschwimmen. Ali fängt an zu vergessen, warum sie gekommen war und was sie sucht. In einem Club lernt sie Katho kennen, der sie durch die Nachtszene Istanbuls führt. Sie begegnet Aglaja, die zur Symbolfigur der Gezipark-Proteste wird. Und irgendwo in Spiegeln von Bars und um die Ecke biegend, erahnt sie Anton und rennt ihm nach.

In Sasha Marianna Salzmanns gefeiertem Debütroman Ausser sich versucht Ali Geschlecht, Sprache, Länder hinter sich zu lassen, bis sie versteht: es geht nicht weiter, wenn sie nicht weiß, was vorher war. Sie entschließt sich, wieder zurückzugehen und das zu tun, wovor sie immerzu weggelaufen ist: Ihre Familie zu befragen. Warum sind wir so oft gegangen? Was ist dieses Rennen in uns? 100 Jahre jüdische Familiengeschichte entspinnen sich über Odessa, Czernowitz, Grosny, Wolgograd, Moskau, Deutschland, Deutschland, Deutschland und dann Istanbul am Hafen, wo Katho von Odessa erzählt.

Hausregisseur Sebastian Nübling betritt mit dem Ensemble diese opulente Landschaft von Figuren und Geschichten. Eine Odyssee der Wandlungen und Umbrüche. Was bedeutet es heute, »Ich« sagen zu können? Mögliche Bruchstücke von Identität suchen immer wieder neue Anordnungen.


Aufführungsrechte: Verlag der Autoren, Frankfurt am Main
Tickets ab Anfang Juli 2018 an dieser Stelle.

Fr
19:30
Bühne

Premiere


Anschließend Premierenparty

Premiere


Anschließend Premierenparty

Sa
19:30
Bühne


With English surtitles


With English surtitles

So
19:30
Bühne


With English surtitles


With English surtitles

Team

Bühne

Kostüme

Besetzung

MEHMET ATEŞÇİ

Margarita Breitkreiz

Anastasia Gubareva

Kenda Hmeidan

POLINA LAPKOVSKAJA

Falilou Seck

Sesede Terziyan