The Machine

This Machine (AT)

A project by Sebastian Nübling and Exil Ensemble based on William Shakespeare, Heiner Müller and others

Thine evermore, most dear lady, whilst this machine is to him. Hamlet.
Shakespeare, Hamlet

These words conclude Hamlet’s famous letter to Ophelia, in which he tries to tell the only person he loves that he’s withdrawing from the structure of norms. The word »machine« only appears once in all of Shakespeare. It refers to the body, which, during the early part of the Enlightenment, was often referred to as a machine, as a marvel composed of many parts. Shakespeare’s play itself is also such a machine of theatrical marvels. A reflection on death and religion, on norms and insanity, on power and powerlessness. And besides all this, it’s also a grand text about the theatre itself. 

In 1977, Heiner Müller adapted this text in Die Hamletmaschine, which carries »machine« in the title. In a radical fashion, Müller questions the position of the intellectual in a world that’s out of joint. He dissects Shakespeare and then reassembles the fragments that remain. Who’s playing which game – with whom and for whom – who’s a spectator and who’s an actor in the play between reality and the stage?

The Exil Ensemble has been part of the Gorki since the 2016/17 season. Together with Sebastian Nübling, the ensemble’s seven actors are investigating this and other texts, as well as researching their own positions in an open ended project. While Müller’s text has become part of the canon in Germany, it takes on a very different political urgency in the parts of the world that are struggling desperately for political change.

Premiere: 24/February 2018

Photo: Esra Rotthoff

Sat
19:30
Stage


PREMIERE

Anschließend Premierenparty


PREMIERE

Anschließend Premierenparty

Mon
19:30
Stage


With English surtitles


With English surtitles

Team

Costumes

Music

Dramaturgy

Cast

Maryam Abu Khaled

Mazen Aljubbeh

Hussein AL Shatheli

Karim Daoud

Tahera Hashemi

Kenda Hmeidan

Ayham Majid Agha

This Machine

This Machine (AT)

Ein Projekt von Sebastian Nübling und Exil Ensemble nach William Shakespeare und Heiner Müller

Dein für immer, meist geliebte Frau, solang diese Maschine zu ihm gehört. Hamlet.
Shakespeare, Hamlet

Mit diesen Worten endet Hamlets berühmter Brief an Ophelia, in dem er versucht, dem einzig geliebten Menschen seinen Ausstieg aus dem System der Norm anzukündigen. Das Wort »machine« taucht bei Shakespeare nur ein einziges Mal auf. Es bezeichnet den Körper, der in der barocken frühaufklärerischen Zeit oft als Maschine, als aus vielen Teilen zusammengesetztes Wunderwerk, bezeichnet wurde. Shakespeares Stück selbst ist eine solche Theaterzaubermaschine. Eine Reflexion über Tod und Religion, über Norm und Wahnsinn, über Macht und Ohnmacht. Und neben all dem auch ein großer Text über das Theater selbst.

1977 schrieb Heiner Müller mit Die Hamletmaschine eine Adaption, die die Maschine im Titel führt. Müller stellt die Position des Intellektuellen in einer Welt, die aus den Fugen ist, radikal in Frage, er seziert Shakespeare und setzt die verbliebenen Fragmente neu zusammen. Welches Spiel spielt wer mit wem und für wen, wer ist Zuschauer*in und wer Akteur*in im Spiel zwischen Wirklichkeit und Bühne?

Das Exil Ensemble ist seit der Spielzeit 2016/17 Teil des Gorki. Die sieben Schauspieler*innen spüren mit Sebastian Nübling diesem und anderen Texten nach und forschen in dem ergebnisoffen angelegten Projekt nach der eigenen Position. Während Müllers Text in Deutschland zum Kanonwerk geworden ist, erhält er in anderen Teilen der Welt, in denen verzweifelt um politische Veränderung gerungen wird, eine ganz andere politische Dringlichkeit.

Premiere 24. Februar 2018

Foto: Esra Rotthoff

Sa
19:30
Bühne


PREMIERE

Anschließend Premierenparty


PREMIERE

Anschließend Premierenparty

Mo
19:30
Bühne


With English surtitles


With English surtitles

Team

Kostüme

Musik

Dramaturgie

Besetzung

Maryam Abu Khaled

Mazen Aljubbeh

Hussein AL Shatheli

Karim Daoud

Tahera Hashemi

Kenda Hmeidan

Ayham Majid Agha